Florida Law requires the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident to stop at the scene, assist any injured persons, notify the police in the event of personal injury or property damage that exceeds $500, and to provide your name, address, vehicle registration number and show your drivers license to the other drivers and the police.
The Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law requires every insurance company to provide personal injury protection (PIP) to its insured drivers. PIP insurance will pay 80% of any medical expense and 60% of any loss of wages resulting from an automobile accident regardless of fault to a maximum of $10,000. This is the only required automobile insurance in the State.
The No-Fault Law also prevents a person injured as a result of a motor vehicle accident from making claim for, or filing suit for compensation for personal injuries, unless a permanent injury, disability or loss of bodily function has resulted. However, in the event of a permanent injury, Florida law permits recovery for all injuries, pain and suffering, disabilities, loss of bodily function, mental anguish, loss of capacity for the enjoyment of life and spousal loss of services and consortium.
Florida Law also provides for comparative negligence so that any award will be reduced by the percentage of fault which is assigned to the injured party by the jury or by the Court in the event of a non-jury trial.
For additional information regarding Florida Law on specific automobile or
other personal injury matters, you should consult an experienced Florida attorney.